Polanco earns third Gold Glove Award


Placido Polanco became the second player to win the Gold Glove Award at two different positions, when he was named the best fielding third baseman in the National League on Tuesday night.

Polanco won two Gold Glove Awards as a second baseman in the American League while playing with the Tigers. In a new set up where three players were nominated at each position, Polanco edged out fellow third basemen, Dan Descalso of the Cardinals and the Giants' Pablo Sandoval.

Darin Erstad won Gold Glove Awards as an outfielder and a first baseman for the Angels.

In winning the award, Polanco breaks a streak where Scott Rolen, Ryan Zimmerman and David Wright had 10 of the last 11 Gold Glove Awards. Meanwhile, the Phillies own 15 of the 55 Gold Glove Awards presented to third basemen.

Polanco was the only Phillie to win a Gold Glove of the three players nominated.

Shane Victorino's string of three straight Gold Glove Awards was snapped on Tuesday night when Dodgers' center fielder Matt Kemp took home the award. Additionally, catcher Carlos Ruiz also was beaten out for his first Gold Glove Award by the Cardinals' Yadier Molina.

For Molina, it was the fourth straight Gold Glove victory.

National League Gold Glove winners:
P - Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
C - Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B - Joey Votto, Reds
2B - Brandon Phillips, Reds
3B - Placido Polanco, Phillies
SS - Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
LF - Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks
CF - Matt Kemp, Dodgers
RF - Andre Ethier, Dodgers

E-mail John Finger at jfinger@comcastsportsnet.com.

Contact Us