Who is favored to win NFL MVP in 2023? Here's a look at the full odds through Week 3

Tua Tagovailoa and Patrick Mahomes are among the favorites to win the NFL MVP award after three weeks

NBC Universal, Inc.

The NFL is stocked with stars -- but only one can win MVP each year.

Even though the battle for MVP generally heats up as the weather gets colder, it's never too soon to start looking at the favorites. And with three weeks now complete in the 2023 NFL season, now is the perfect time.

Can Patrick Mahomes go back-to-back? Will Tua Tagovailoa maintain his early-season form? Or will a surprise contender emerge?

Here's a full breakdown of the NFL MVP odds after Week 3:

What are the betting odds to win NFL MVP in 2023?

Mahomes entered the season favored to win his third MVP in six years. The reigning regular season and Super Bowl MVP dominated in 2022, leading the NFL in passing yards (5,250), passing touchdowns (41) and QBR (77.6). He's been equally strong through three games this season with seven touchdowns, two interceptions and 803 passing yards.

Tagovailoa has overshadowed Mahomes, though, after starting the season at +2000 to win MVP. The Dolphins quarterback has 1,024 passing yards, eight touchdowns and two interceptions to go along with a 3-0 record. Not to mention his team nearly set the single-game scoring record in a ridiculous Week 3 performance.

Several other star quarterbacks -- including Josh Allen, Jalen Hurts and Justin Herbert -- remain in the mix after productive games.

Here are the top 20 odds to win 2023 NFL MVP after Week 3, according to our betting partner, PointsBet:

  • Tua Tagovailoa, +350
  • Patrick Mahomes, +450
  • Josh Allen, +800
  • Jalen Hurts, +900
  • Justin Herbert, +1100
  • Lamar Jackson, +1400
  • Brock Purdy, +1800
  • Trevor Lawrence, +2000
  • Joe Burrow, +2200
  • Dak Prescott, +2500
  • Deshaun Watson, +4000
  • Jared Goff, +4000
  • Christian McCaffrey, +4000
  • Matthew Stafford, +5000
  • Kirk Cousins, +5000
  • Derek Carr, +5000
  • Micah Parsons, +5000
  • Tyreek Hill, +5000
  • Jordan Love, +6600
  • Geno Smith, +7500

Who won NFL MVP in 2022?

Mahomes won his second career MVP last season with 48 of 50 first-place votes. Hurts and Allen each claimed a first-place vote to finish second and third, respectively. Burrow and Jefferson rounded out the top five.

List of NFL MVP winners by year

2022: Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

2021: Aaron Rodgers, Packers QB

2020: Aaron Rodgers, Packers QB

2019: Lamar Jackson, Ravens QB

2018: Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

2017: Tom Brady, Patriots QB

2016: Matt Ryan, Falcons QB

2015: Cam Newton, Panthers QB

2014: Aaron Rodgers, Packers QB

2013: Peyton Manning, Broncos QB

2012: Adrian Peterson, Vikings RB

2011: Aaron Rodgers, Packers QB

2010: Tom Brady, Patriots QB

2009: Peyton Manning, Colts QB

2008: Peyton Manning, Colts QB

2007: Tom Brady, Patriots QB

2006: LaDainian Tomlinson, Chargers RB

2005: Shaun Alexander, Seahawks RB

2004: Peyton Manning, Colts QB

2003: Peyton Manning, Colts QB / Steve McNair, Titans QB

2002: Rich Gannon, Raiders QB

2001: Kurt Warner, Rams QB

2000: Marshall Faulk, Rams RB

1999: Kurt Warner, Rams QB

1998: Terrell Davis, Broncos RB

1997: Brett Favre, Packers QB

1997: Barry Sanders, Lions RB

1996: Brett Favre, Packers QB

1995: Brett Favre, Packers QB

1994: Steve Young, 49ers QB

1993: Emmitt Smith, Cowboys RB

1992: Steve Young, 49ers QB

1991: Thurman Thomas, Bills RB

1990: Joe Montana, 49ers QB

1989: Joe Montana, 49ers QB

1988: Boomer Esiason, Bengals QB

1987: John Elway, Broncos QB

1986: Lawrence Taylor, Giants LB

1985: Marcus Allen, Raiders QB

1984: Dan Marino, Dolphins QB

1983: Joe Theismann, Washington QB

1982: Mark Moseley, Washington K

1981: Ken Anderson, Bengals QB

1980: Brian Sipe, Browns QB

1979: Earl Campbell, Oilers RB

1978: Terry Bradshaw, Steelers QB

1977: Walter Payton, Bears RB

1976: Bert Jones, Colts QB

1975: Fran Tarkenton, Vikings QB

1974: Ken Stabler, Raiders QB

1973: O.J. Simpson, Bills RB

1972: Larry Brown, Washington RB

1971: Alan Page, Vikings DT

1970: John Brodie, 49ers QB

1969: Roman Gabriel, Rams QB

1968: Earl Morrall, Colts QB

1967: Johnny Unitas, Colts QB

1966: Bart Starr, Packers QB

1965: Jim Brown, Browns FB

1964: Johnny Unitas, Colts QB

1963: Y.A. Tittle, Giants QB

1962: Jim Taylor, Packers FB

1961: Paul Hornung, Packers HB

1960: Norm Van Brocklin, Eagles QB

1959: Johnny Unitas, Colts QB

1958: Jim Brown, Browns FB

1957: Jim Brown, Browns FB

Editor's note: All odds are provided by our partner, PointsBet. PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Contact Us