These MLB teams have clinched a 2022 playoff berth


The 2022 MLB playoffs are almost here, and teams are slowly punching their tickets to the postseason.

The Philadelphia Phillies became the 12th and final team to clinch a berth, subsequently eliminating the Milwaukee Brewers’ chances.

As the postseason start date gets closer, let’s take a look at the squads that will be competing for the World Series title come November: 

Which teams are in the 2022 MLB playoffs?

The Philadelphia Phillies were the last team to qualify for the playoffs on Monday, while the Atlanta Braves locked up the NL East division title for the fifth straight season on Tuesday. Here’s the list of teams that have clinched:

  • AL West champion: Houston Astros
  • AL East champion: New York Yankees
  • AL Central champion: Cleveland Guardians
  • AL Wild Card: Toronto Blue Jays
  • AL Wild Card: Seattle Mariners
  • AL Wild Card: Tampa Bay Rays
  • NL West champion: Los Angeles Dodgers 
  • NL East champion: Atlanta Braves
  • NL Central champion: St. Louis Cardinals
  • NL Wild Card: New York Mets
  • NL Wild Card: San Diego Padres
  • NL Wild Card: Philadelphia Phillies

How many wild cards make the MLB playoffs?

In addition to the three division winners, there are three wild card spots in each league.

How do the new MLB playoffs work?

The new 12-team MLB playoff format gives a first-round bye to the two best division champions in each league. From there, the remaining division winner (No. 3 seed) faces the worst wild card team (No. 6 seed), while the top two wild card teams (No. 4 and 5 seeds) square off in the other series. The wild card round is a best-of-three format with the higher seed hosting all three games.

There is no re-seeding for the divisional round, so the No. 1 seed will battle the winner of the 4-5 matchup and the No. 2 seed will draw the winner of the 3-6 matchup. The divisional round is a best-of-five 2-2-1 format, while the championship round and World Series are a best-of-seven 2-3-2 format.

What are the magic numbers for the 2022 MLB playoffs?

Here's a full look at how the magic numbers for a playoff berth panned out, courtesy of

Which MLB teams have been eliminated from playoff contention?

Eighteen teams, nine in each conference, have been officially eliminated from postseason contention: Milwaukee Brewers, San Francisco Giants, Baltimore Orioles, Washington Nationals, Pittsburgh Pirates, Cincinnati Reds, Miami Marlins, Chicago Cubs, Colorado Rockies, Arizona Diamondbacks, Boston Red Sox, Oakland A's, Detroit Tigers, Kansas City Royals, Chicago White Sox, Minnesota Twins, Texas Rangers, and Los Angeles Angels.

When do the 2022 MLB playoffs start?

The postseason gets underway with the wild card round on Friday, Oct. 7, two days after the regular season ends. You can check out the full playoff schedule here.

Contact Us